CAR RENTAL ON CAT ISLAND



HARRY KING AT LAKEVIEW rents cars. Phone (242) 342-5090 for reservations - No credit cards

JASON RUSSELL at Favors rents cars (242) 342-4010Takes credit cards

DONNIE NEWBOLD in Port Howe rents cars (242) 464-8331No credit cards

NEW BIGHT FOOD STORE rents cars. Phone (242) 342-3011Takes credit cards

March 2016

Home was beautiful with outstanding views of the oceanfront and palm trees surrounding it. The kitchen was great for cooking for a family of six with high end appliances and all the extras you need in a kitchen. Beach couldn't be more beautiful for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking. We loved the swim/ walk to the caves along the beach with clear water to see many varieties of sea life and the kids loved finding shells. We explored Old Bight Beach, Pigeon Cay, and Greewood, along with Winding Bays boat- only access. Each beach we visited was just our family- the seclusion was so nice and we loved the quiet. Da Smoke Pot, Shannas cove, Fernandez Bay were our adventures away from Poodle House. We loved it and look forward to a return visit. Cat Island is for you if you love making your own adventures and want to feel worlds away.


FROM TRIP ADVISOR AND HOME AWAY.

"We stayed at Poodle House for a week in February 2016. It’s a property imagined in dreams, and the owner Bruce, and his extended Cat Island ‘family’ are extremely welcoming and accommodating hosts. We highly recommend this property if you love paradise by the sea, and enjoy tending to your own meals and entertainment, as do we. A few details, among the abundance of highlights, are appropriate to mention…"


"The house is awesome. It is extremely comfortable and of high quality amenities and materials, appropriately-casual for a seaside setting. The kitchen is well stocked with cookware and, again, high quality appliances, and a nice spot to gather, given the surrounding bar. All the rooms are well-appointed, with comfortable high-end furniture throughout. It is important to note how impeccably clean and fresh the home is kept, and the availability of towels, supplies, and equipment. As well, unlike many other properties available for rent, the owners’ touch remains throughout, warmly appointed with well-placed collections, books, art, and other personal belongings."


"The location is AMAZING. After flying into New Bight, the 25 minute drive to the south shore of Cat was a bit like traversing the Outback, then we crested over the initial hill of the driveway and see the gorgeous oasis of a home nestled on a private white-sand beach, with a backdrop of a turquoise and deep blue striped ocean. A half-mile of pristine shoreline was effectively ours throughout. Utilizing Bruce’s kayak and snorkeling gear, we explored gorgeous reefs, and spotted a school of eagle rays (10-15’ wingspans) from a 10’ distance, gliding through one of the channels. We also returned with a treasure of beautiful shells (e.g., Conch) and beached coral (e.g., brain)."


"New Bight Foods is well stocked for groceries and supplies, albeit most meats frozen, all of good quality, and Jason’s Gas accommodated our rental car. The islanders all know each other (and Bruce!); all very kind and helpful. Most things require a 20-30 minute drive on desolate roadways, but aside from a few attractions and getting supplies, you won’t find much need or desire to leave Poodle House."


At night we saw a billion stars, and a handful of shooting stars. The temperature varied between 70-80F in February, with an occasional light shower that came through a few times. There’s a persistent light breeze that circulates through the house.


28 MARCH, 2015

Wonderful, well-appointed home, magnificent beach

We have just returned from having stayed two weeks in March at the Poodle House.  Having communicated with Bruce and visiting the web site, we had high expectations for our stay at the Poodle House.  In every way, our expectations were exceeded.  
The House is of a very high standard.  The kitchen is truly a cook's kitchen and offers ample bar seating for the chef's spectators, liaabound and every ustensil ever designed is to be found lurking in one of the many drawers. Ceiling fans are throughout the house and given the fans and the breeze and cross ventilation; we never turned on the a/c. There is a wide screen TV and Direct TV that we never turned on and we immersed ourselves in tranquility and quiet that the Poodle House offers. The wireless internet was fast and allowed us to plug into work during our stay. The beach is in view from the entire house and especially from the porch
where we enjoyed morning coffee and evening cocktails. The beach is totally private and we never saw another person the whole two weeks on the beach. There are good beach chairs by the Tiki Hut and an outdoor shower on the path leading to the house so that you can wash off any sand before entering the house. We kayaked in the 2-person kayak and snorkeled many times directly in front of the house.  We saw lots of fish, eagle rays, star fish, conch, along the undisturbed coral reef. Bruce and Una are very welcoming hosts and go out of their way to help you prepare for your visit and offer suggestions as you get acclimated to Cat Island. Una was on the island during our stay and we appreciated her help in linking us up with places to eat and things to do.

We went deep sea fishing with friends of Bruce and Una, Roy and Lucille. This was a great day. Roy and Lucille are a ton of fun and a great team. Roy likes to think he is in charge, but Lucille runs the fishing thing. We caught yellow fin tuna and Mahi Mahi. Lots. We anchored offshore near a beautiful reef and snorkeled. We caught lobster and combined that with the fish that we caught and had special dinner with our catch. Roy and Lucille and Bruce and Una are all very generous in their involvement and contributions to the Cat Island community and are well known.

Food.  Sheila who lives down the road a mile prepared food for us which we picked up and brought back to the house. Sheila is a super cook and this worked very well for us. Julius, her son, makes a special conch salad which also cannot be missed. Daisy Mae runs a small restaurant (Sweet Tambrin) also about a mile down the road.  We went about 5 times for Chicken, Fish, Lobster, and Daisy Mae also prepared our catch from fishing.  Great food and conversation in a clean and cozy setting.  We also brought home some of Daisy Mae's homemade papaya hot sauce. 


Other things we did and enjoyed.  Greek food and lunch at Ocean Dream. Climbed the Hermitage at sunrise.  Lunch at the Greenwood then walked 6 miles south on the beach along coral cliffs and the beautiful beach. Only our footprints in the sand. Time this trek at low tide. Lunch at Hawks Nest, poked around the marina (some big boats there), and a nice gift shop. Lunch at Hidden Treasure, frozen papaya daiquiris, cracked conch and jerked pork (both great), met some nice people from the sailboats tied up just off shore. We drove the entire island and poked in at several places including Fernandez Bay, Da Smoke Pot, and Shannon's Cove.  All will serve meals. Da Smoke Pot is very memorable and a good lunch destination.


We had a great time in a great house!

***** 5 of 5 - Submitted: Dec 22, 2013 - Stayed: Dec 2013

The previous reviews of the house are spot on. The house, the kitchen, the views, the beach, the snorkeling, the ambiance and the service are all five stars. During the reservation and pre-arrival process Bruce responded to dozens of our emails answering our multitude of questions. Upon arrival, Una met us at the airport and took us to the grocery, liquor store and to pick up our car. After a house briefing, we were on our own to hit the water and the beach. We asked Sheila to cook for us two nights, serving traditional Bahamian dinners. We fished and lobstered with Hoyt and his son Pedro and had all the fresh seafood we needed for the week. As the week came to a close we felt we met most all the friendly folks in the Port Howe settlement. Finally, check out Sheila's son Julius's woodcarvings for a Cat Island remembrance. I highly recommend Poodle House for a great island vacation.

My wife, daughter and I just returned from a wonderful stay on Cat Island. The island is a special place with genuine, friendly people and no commercial development to speak of. It lives up to its billing as an unspoiled sanctuary in the Out Islands. Staying at the Poodle House made our vacation on Cat Island an unforgettable experience. Previous reviews may seem to overstate the amenities of the house, but believe me, they do not. The gourmet kitchen is mind blowing and I do not have the words to describe what it is like to wake up to a Bahamian sunrise in the master suite with the ocean waves lapping the beach just outside the back door. And the beach! Beautiful sand, completely private, with world class snorkeling reefs within a few short strokes from the shore. The sea is gin clear and we saw nearly every variety of reef fish in the guide book (except sharks, and we were fine with that.) Bruce made every effort to ensure we were set up with all the arrangements necessary for a perfect stay in his beautiful house. I couldn't have asked for a more accommodating host or a more beautiful location for our family vacation. The Poodle House is perfect for a family retreat, a romantic getaway, or a couples' vacation. We will be back.

5 January, 2013
Bruce,
We just finished our last supper in the Poodle House with local lobster sautéed in garlic and Port Howe tomato sauce over pasta, followed by roast Bahamian chicken and vegetables. Banana flambé for dessert. This is an amazing place and even a value when you consider that the spec rental houses hardly measure up to a house like this which is beautifully designed, appointed and furnished as a family's elegant high end beach house. My wife is an architectural critic by profession and she approved this message. The downside is that we may have to redo our kitchen when we get home. Best kitchen I have ever rented! Strangely I cannot think of any suggestions for improvements. Thanks. Warren
Sent from my iPad


Review #5227597 "A Quiet Way of Life"  June 26th, 2012

Tropical Cat Island for two weeks--it was a place for relaxation in elegant comfort and in warm waters, a place that calls visitors to learn about the people and their history too. The Albros have a comfortable home for their guests, complete with top of the line appliances, granite countertops, tile flooring and cypress paneling. The furnishings in the spacious rooms are of high quality and simple. Examples of local artisanry are displayed. You will feel comfortable here. The very private beach is ever present. What a fabulous place to swim and snorkel! Cat Islanders are welcoming--among them are great fishermen and women, divers, small business owners, fabulous cooks, artisans who work in shell, wood and thatch. The island's history and landmarks are worth exploring and the surrounding seas are unforgettable. I cried when I left. 

Keith Griffith, Niwot, Colorado - Date of Stay: April 4, 2011
My wife and I spent 2 weeks at the Albro home in April 2011. We are experienced Caribbean travelers who have averaged a trip every year for the past ten years, staying in a variety of accommodations. This home is the finest setting we have found. Usually one expects a bit of puffery in the descriptions of a rental home, but this one was understated. The home is truly magnificent, the beach and snorkeling are outstanding. Here you will find peace and seclusion but with all the conveniences of modern life. We downloaded e-books to the iPad while sitting on the veranda and watched our Colorado Rockies play the Cubs one evening. If you need casinos and extensive shopping, this is not the place for you. If you enjoy the natural beauty and slow pace of the out islands, you can't do better than this. The Best Vacation Ever!


Review Submitted: December 11, 2011 - Date of Stay: October 31, 2011
The house was beautiful- every detail was carefully thought out and was well taken care of... it had everything you could need.. the hot tub was great (and very clean)... the beach was gorgeous and private... we only saw people (at a far distance) one time the entire vacation. Bruce and Una were incredibly helpful and nice; they truly extended themselves to make our trip great. Although I am tempted to keep Poodle House a secret, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a tranquil and beautiful vacation!
"Awesome vacation spot"
Stayed for a full week with family and friends. What an amazing place! We especially enjoyed simply sitting on the back porch for morning coffee while watching the sunrise over stunning views of the Caribbean.
Great diving and fishing are nearby. We caught several nice-sized tuna, and had fresh sushi courtesy of a rare Big-Eye tuna we caught. The private beach and snorkeling are right in the backyard and are gorgeous.
This is a perfect place to recharge and reconnect with families and friends.

Guest Review from tony_albonetti@yahoo.com - Jul 6, 2011
"Best Vacation Ever"

My wife chose the Bahamas and since her nickname is Cat I thought we could not go wrong with an island with the same name. We had another couple that were suppose to go with us but on short notice cancelled but we decided to stay in this large house anyway. Little did we know how great this vacation was to be with just her and me. First and foremost Bruce was so helpful in our planning and our booking flight arrangements to Cat Island as well as arranging and introducing us to some of the locals for fishing trips, car rental, and food preparation needs. The house was immaculate and felt more like we were house sitting and not a vacation rental at all. The morning sunrise and coffee views from the back patio as well as the secluded beaches, snorkeling and kayaking were exactly the R&R; my wife and I were seeking. This is not a place for those wanting nightlife and need to be busy but truly for those just wanting seclusion and relaxation. We made new friends (Roy and Lucille) after an introduction from Bruce for a fishing/snorkeling trip on their boat. Roy was so helpful to my wife that had never before been game fishing. When we were done at the end of the trip we found that we had not only learned about the fishing but the reef surrounding Cat Island as well. My wife caught a +200lb blue marlin and together we caught enough Mahi to feed the village of Port Howe for Mother's Day that Sunday at the local church. After lunch on the boat we did some snorkeling and really got to know our host a little better and my wife and I were so at ease. The locals were the friendliest and we were treated like family during our short stay on their island. My only regret is we only had 8 days and that was not enough. We could have spent another week or more easily. But we are already making plans to return again in the near future. Thank you Bruce and all the people on Cat Island that made this the best vacation ever for the two of us.


Dan Baker, Orillia, Ontario, Canada - Date of Stay: December 13, 2009
Extraordinary home, all the amenities; decor, art, quality throughout. If you are going to a Bahamas out island, go to Cat and pay the little extra cost to stay in the nicest house there. In 10 days we saw only 2-3 people walking by on the beach, most days nobody. Snorkel and fish right there, awesome coral heads, fish, turtles, lobster. Kayak, bike, walk the beach, sea glass. We rented a car for the full 10 days and had fun exploring the island and meeting the people. Grocery stores have more than enough to eat well. No need to take groceries as some might suggest. We ate out only once, because the gourmet kitchen was fun to use, and my family of five just relaxed and chilled around meals, games and laughter. Bruce (owner) is a great honest guy who runs a fine home and a tight ship. Be prepared for little inconveniences on an out island, but this wonderfully run very clean house and property minimizes any possible problems. We have come to the Bahamas for years, this is several cuts above our other stays. We will go back to Cat. 


Stephen Boswell, Dallas, Texas - Date of Stay: October 24, 2009
My wife and I stayed in this house recently and every word is true. Actually, words do not describe the setting. You have this great expanse of ocean right in front of the house with the private beach and all behind 3 reefs. Because the house is located on the main road but behind the hill, it is very private. The hot tub is superb, the furnishings rich, and the total ambiance is here. The cool ocean breezes keep the house very comfortable. Speaking of a gourmet kitchen, everything is here for the most challenged gourmet chef. We are retired chefs and do appreciate all the amenities.

Recommended for: Age 55+ ,  Girls Getaway ,  Romantic Getaway


Amelia Stephenson, Maryland - Date of Stay: August 1, 2009
This rental house is a paradise unto itself. It is very private, and the interior - as you can see from the description and photos -- is everything it says. The kitchen is very well-equipped, the rooms are spacious and the views are beautiful. You can wake up in the master bedroom and see the ocean shining at your feet . You can arrange to go fishing right off the shore and bicycling will be nearly car-free on the main island road, but it will not be very workable here if you want meals out and hyper-activities. You could say it is very rural here, so plan accordingly and I'm sure the owners will help with that. Consider if you want to rent a vehicle for the entire time, or part of the time, and how to bring in/ order provisions for your stay so you don't have to go out. The beach here is wonderful. If you want to sit on a beautiful tropical beach -- or in the shaded tiki hut -- and relax this is your spot for sure. You can walk for several miles nearly uninterrupted. The sand is fine, white and soft, the water clear but deep enough off the beach to have a good swim, There is not usually too much wave action, so simply floating is a joy. Then there is the snorkeling! There are coral reefs dotted all around right off the beach, just jump in and with a very short swim out you'll see brain corals, turtles, all sorts of fish. There's even a cave along a rocky point within a snorkeling distance away from your beach. Kayaking is also great here. This is the rental to enjoy a finely appointed home, play on a practically private beach and completely relax.

"awesome"

beautiful, well kept home. gorgeous beach that we had all to ourselves. we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else on the island

FLYING TO NEW BIGHT CAT ISLAND


Sky Bahamas flies out of Nassau twice daily to Cat Island.  Visit www.skybahamas.com for booking a reservation. 


British Airways flies to Nassau from London for connections from all of Europe and Africa.


Fly to NASSAU on Delta, American, U.S. Air, Continental, Jet Blue, Spirit, Air Tran  and connect with  
Sky Bahamas.  Sky Bahamas flys  to New Bight (TBI) twice a day, morning and evening from Nassau (NAS).
www.skybahamas.com 


Private planes (MYCB) for the identifier.
You will clear customs at New Bight on Cat Island. (MYCB) 

If you need fuel North Eleuthera Airport on Eleuthera (MYEH) or Georgetown in Exumas (MYEF).

REVIEWS , RATINGS ,FLYNG

Reviews, Rates, Flying


CAT ISLAND BAHAMAS



A refundable damage/reservation deposit is required when booking. Thirty days prior to arrival, the entire fee for rental is due. The original damage/reservation deposit will remain until the property has been cleaned and inspected for damage, and long distance phone charges deducted.

NO SMOKING, PLEASE!

The   deposit will then be returned to the renter within 15 days. A HURRICANE clause is in effect with this contract.

  • Somewhere Over the Rainbow3:30
June 1, 2016 to June 1, 2017.
The following rate applies. Length of stay is for 7 nights and for 2 people.  
$2900.00

The rate for 3 people is $3200.00.
The rate for 4 people is $3500.00.
The rate for 5 people is $3800.00.
The rate for 6 people is $4100.00.


​ 

Extra nights are $415.00 for 2 people per night.
Extra nights are $457.00 for 3 people per night. 
Extra nights are $500.00 for 4 people per night.
Extra nights are $540.00 for 5 people per night.
Extra nights are $585.00 for 6 people per night.
 

Inquire about Monthly rate.